Management Committee

Andrew Dempster

Professor Andrew Dempster is Director of the Australian Centre for Space Engineering Research (ACSER) at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). He has a BE and MEngSc from UNSW and a PhD from University of Cambridge in efficient circuits for signal processing arithmetic.

Andrew was system engineer and project manager for the first GPS receiver developed in Australia in the late 80s and has been involved in satellite navigation ever since. His current research interests are in satellite navigation receiver design and signal processing, areas where he has six patents, and new location technologies. He is leading the development of space engineering research at ACSER.

Prof Eliathamby Ambikairajah

Professor Eliathamby Ambikairajah received his BSc(Eng) degree from the University of Sri Lanka and received his PhD degree in Signal Processing from Keele University, UK. He was appointed as Head of Electronic Engineering and later Dean of Engineering at the Athlone Institute of Technology in the Republic of Ireland from 1982 to 1999. His key publications led to his repeated appointment as a short-term Invited Research Fellow with the British Telecom Laboratories, U.K., for ten years from 1989 to 1999.

He is currently the Head of School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia. Professor Ambikairajah’s research interests include speech enhancement, speaker recognition, language recognition, emotion detection and biomedical signal processing. He has authored and co-authored more than 250 conference and journal papers, and is also a regular reviewer for several IEEE, IET and other journals and conferences. He was the Technical Program Co-Chair for the inaugural APSIPA Summit and Conference in 2010. For his contributions to speaker recognition research, he was invited as a Visiting Scientist to the Institute of Infocomms Research (A*STAR), Singapore in 2009, where he is currently a Faculty Associate.

Professor Ambikairajah received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence in 2004 for his innovative use of educational technology, the School Awards for Teaching Excellence in 2003, and Academic Management in 2001. He is a currently an APSIPA Distinguished Lecturer for the 2013-14 term. He is a Fellow and a Chartered Engineer of the IET UK and Engineers Australia and is a Member of the IEEE and APSIPA.

Prof Graham Davies

Professor Graham Davies is the Dean of Engineering at the University of New South Wales. Until April 2008 he was the Sir James Timmins Chance Professor of Engineering at the University of Birmingham and executive head of the School of Engineering. His research interests are in the field of electronic materials, nanotechnology, MEMs and particularly, micro manufacturing of different materials combinations. He trained as a chemical physicist at the University of Wales, where he completed his doctoral studies. After a research post at the Physics Department, Kings College London, he worked at the Post Office Research Labs London (later: British Telecom Research Laboratory).

He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, The Institution of Engineers Australia (FIEAust), the Institution of Electrical Engineers, the Institute of Physics and IoM3. He has published over 150 papers, contributed to 7 books and has 4 patents. He serves as a Director on the Boards of the Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies (CO2CRC), the Advanced Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre (AMCRC), and NewSouth Innovations Pty Limited. In 2008 and in 2009 he was named as one of the top 100 most influential scientists and engineers in Australia.

Merlin Crossley

Professor Merlin Crossley is the Dean of Science at the University of New South Wales. He completed his BSc degree at the University of Melbourne, majoring in genetics and microbiology. He moved to Oxford University supported by a Rhodes Scholarship to pursue his doctorate, and then did post-doctoral research at Oxford and at Harvard Medical School. He returned to Australia in 1995 and held various positions at the University of Sydney, including Professor of Molecular Genetics 2005-9, Acting Dean of Science 2004, Director of Research for the College of Sciences and Technology 2005, and was Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research 2006-8. At the end of 2009 he moved to UNSW to take up the position of Dean of Science. He has received several awards for his work on gene control including the Australian Academy of Science's Gottschalk Medal, the Royal Society of NSW's Edgeworth David Medal, the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology's Roche Medal, and the Julian Well's Medal from the Lorne Genomce Conference.

Michael Frater

Professor Michael Frater is the Rector of the University College of the University of New South Wales at the Australian Defence Force Academy. Previous leadership roles include Head of the School of Engineering and Information Technology (2009-2010), Head of the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering (2007-2009), and Presiding Member of the University College Academic Board (2006-2007).

Michael Frater holds bachelor degrees in electrical engineering and science from the University of Sydney, a Masters in Higher Education from the University of New South Wales and a Doctor of Philosophy in systems engineering from the Australian National University. In 1995, he held the position of Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow, Institute of Computer Science at the University of Wurzburg, Germany.